Skip to content

minimal…

June 19, 2009
strawberries fresh from the farm.  too beautiful not to eat.

strawberries fresh from the farm. too beautiful not to eat.

Dinner tonight is minimal.  I made a spicy and creamy radish spread and smeared it on top of buttery crackers.  Add a few strawberries and a glass of water, and TADAAA!  Dinner in mere minutes! 

strawberries are best at room temperature... like they were just plucked from a sunny patch of green.

strawberries are best at room temperature... like they were just plucked from a sunny patch of green.

As always, tonight was CSA night.  Another plentiful harvest.  This time, we received a head of lettuce and some beets, as well as the other standbys.   For the beets, baby leeks, and extra radishes, I’m planning a cool and simple couscous, seasoned with thyme from last week’s share. 

root crops, including beets and radishes, glowing red.

root crops, including beets and radishes, glowing red.

But, I have a ton of braising mix from the last weeks.  Does anyone know what to do with braising mix?  I assume wilted greens… or crunchy salads? Maybe?

radishes, the feature of tonight's simple supper.

radishes, the feature of tonight's simple supper.

Lately, I have been listening to Zencast – a pod cast about Buddhist teachings.  I think the biggest thing I’ve pulled away from this week’s lessons is the idea of perfection.  At any given moment, everything is as it should be, and so, is perfect.  Even if it’s not ‘an ideal situation’ according to societal norms, it’s still perfect.  Hundreds of millions of years have worked toward that one moment, and at that moment, everything is exactly what it is meant to be.  I find this notion incredibly releasing, especially since I live in fear of so many things. 

I finally conquered the 40 minute run (although, with 12 minute miles, how much could I really be accomplishing?)  And as I ran through the park, and things were feeling tough, I kept saying to myself, ‘at this moment, all your cells are perfect.  your muscles are perfect.  they will carry you far.  this place is perfect.  the air is perfect.  keep moving.’  And, I felt free…

I have learned to clear my mind… to keep the chatter to a minimum, to appreciate the small things, like the smell of a summer harvest – full of dirt, and rain, and the distinct aroma of greens…

always wash the vegetables before using.  even washing isn't always perfect. i once almost ate a slug!

always wash the vegetables before using. even washing isn't always perfect. i once almost ate a slug!

removing the stringy end and the leaves of the cherry belles.

removing the stringy end and the leaves of the cherry belles.

grate a cup of radishes

grate a cup of radishes

mix 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup soften butter, celery salt (1/2 tsp), a dash of cayenne pepper and a dash of paprika.

mix 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup soften butter, celery salt (1/2 tsp), a dash of cayenne pepper and a dash of paprika.

Add 1/2 teaspoon Worchestire Sauce, and mix in the radishes and 1/3 cup green onions (I used baby leeks...)

Add 1/2 teaspoon Worchestire Sauce, and mix in the radishes and 1/3 cup green onions (I used baby leeks...)

mix it well, chill it, and then smear on buttery party crackers.

mix it well, chill it, and then smear on buttery party crackers.

strawberries made a nice dessert.

strawberries made a nice dessert.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    June 19, 2009 4:46 pm

    Your site makes me feel all warm and comfortable. Although I don’t think that a spread on crackers and stawberries is going to cut it for dinner : )

  2. Grandma permalink
    June 21, 2009 6:47 pm

    Lauren,
    You amaze me with your photos and commentary. I want to try the radish spread. Thanks for the receipe! Comments may feed this blog but I have a feeling your receipes and comments will be feeding me and even my soul. I’m looking forward to more of what you’re up to in all areas.
    Loving you,
    Gramcracker

  3. jrodnoble permalink
    June 22, 2009 5:22 am

    I couldn’t agree more with everyone! What a great blog! I wish we could share this with the entire world some how. Keep on running strong… it sounds perfect.

    • lolocreatives permalink*
      June 22, 2009 5:40 pm

      tell all your friends and family about it. if you can create a following… that’s the ticket.

  4. Aunt Karen permalink
    June 22, 2009 5:19 pm

    Hey Lauren,

    I wanted you to know I’ve been really enjoying your blog posts. Your photos are a wonderful addition and your stories inspire me in a complete, whole way. Thank you. Thinking of you and counting you as one of my blessings and joys in this journey. Love, Aunt Karen

  5. Mary permalink
    June 23, 2009 3:54 am

    Martha!! I love reading about the lastest updates in your life. Please keep them coming. Everyday I look for a new entry…and when I find one…I savor it!
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

