Skip to content

hot hot heat

June 27, 2009

This morning I was greeted at my doorstep by the fluttering wings of a gold finch, buzzing in and out of my coreopsis.  There can be no doubt that summer is laying it on thick.

DSCF3957

Even the midwestern gray has given way to a blaze of blue, dotted with cotton puff clouds.  The once supple grass is turning gold in the glow of the sun. 

Some of us are fairing better than others in the heat of the day.

DSCF3961

ZZ takes a nap on the cool surface of our coffee table.  Actually, it’s been a hot spot for the cats lately.  They all fight and take turns, strung out on the top of the smooth circle of glass.

To cool down, we have kept the windows open, and the breeze has been a blessing.

DSCF3960

On weekends, even I take naps to escape the heat of the day.  ZZ is my favorite blanket.  She loves to snuggle in for an afternoon siesta.

DSCF3968

Her adoration and loving affection are routinely enjoyed.  Every morning, after my shower, she is there to say hello.  She has eaten her breakfast and wants to thank me for the meal.  In the evenings, before I turn out the lights for the night, she jumps in bed, stands on my chest and lets me know that she has appreciated the day.  Then, she will curl by my side for a few minutes before she’s off to explore the night.

My mother constantly tells me she is thankful that she has moved out of the ‘pet’ phase of her life.  ‘The pet hair, the smell…,’ she gripes.  And, I have to laugh.  I can’t imagine my life without my loves.  They are so much more than pets.  Not even cancer can stop me from loving them completely and wholeheartedly. Never judgemental, they teach me a new way of looking at the world. I notice small things, crickets in the grass, the faint smell of something on the air.  I am better because of them.

For them, today, I am truly thankful.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    June 29, 2009 9:38 am

    But how I love visiting my little grandpets!! Especially, Pretty!!
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

