Skip to content

salsa

August 22, 2009

DSCF4163

DSCF4164

DSCF4169

DSCF4170

DSCF4172

DSCF4173

What do you do when August rolls around?  Anticipate the joy of a ripe and juicy tomato, of course!  For those of us who eat locally, and seasonally, August is the promised land, the pinnacle, and the moment upon which the entire winter will come to rest.  It is full of fresh herbs, summer squash, tomatoes, eggplant and peppers, cucumbers, fresh onions, and the last delicate bulbs of garlic.  Stock up, my lads.  Winter will soon be here. 

So, my great preserving adventure strides further into the unknown with a tribute to summer – salsa.  In the dead of winter, I will be craving the sweetness of a fresh tomato, and the thought of lounging outside, a margarita in hand.  And so, I will live vicariously through my own handiness, and well-thought-out planning. 

These adventures can, in part, be contributed to Mary Anne Dragan, whose book, Well Preserved, Small Batch Preserving for the New Cook, furnished the salsa recipe I have attempted.

 

In other news, I apologize for not posting regularly.  As you know, summer has a way of keeping one busy.  And, I have had my hands full of summer activities, plans and vacations.  Hopefully, I will find a rhythm again, soon.  I look forward to posting.  It is both calming, and satisfying for someone like me, someone  who loves the written word.

How is your summer going?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandma permalink
    August 24, 2009 6:28 pm

    My summer is going fast. Isn’t it funny how we say your summer, my summer when it belongs to everyone! I’ve been busy with book groups, some day trips, recently to Shipshewana with your mom, and to Columbus to visit my cousin Joyce who is going through chemotherapy treatments. Actually, the hours in the day fly by fast, let alone a whole season. I’m really enjoying your photos and hearing about how you’re preserving for the winter. You go, girl! I can just see you in the dead of winter, a margarita in one hand and a chip full of salsa in the other. Tell D I’m sorry I didn’t acknowledge his birthday but I was thinking of him.

  2. jrodnoble permalink
    August 26, 2009 5:59 am

    more posts… more posts!

  3. Mary permalink
    August 27, 2009 2:03 am

    I can’t wait to taste your salsa. I, too, will be making salsa with our fresh produce. ‘Can’t agree with Jacob more!….more posts!!
    I love you,
    Mom
    P.S. Maybe we can get Aunt Laurie to make us some margaritas (she makes the best ones I’ve ever tasted!).

Leave a Reply

