Skip to content

Foodie Friday – Snowville Creamery

October 9, 2009

DSCF4288I thought I would start small for my first friday my mentioning something I fall back on every morning in my cereal (gluten free, if you’re counting…) 

Milk, if you’re interested, reminds me of something good, something good that we lost.  Those days of door to door delivery in beautiful glass bottles.  The idea of ‘fresh from the farm’.  In places such as Canada, UK, and even in states close to home (like Colorado, California, Virgina) the milkman is making a come-back.  And, that means that the ‘farm fresh’ notion is no longer just a gimmick, wool pulled over your eyes. 

Pouring an ice cold glass of milk on a summer day is a treat like nothing else.  And softly squishing chocolate chip cookies in the last drops of a once-brimming glass, is a pleasure that still tickles me.

It is important that the milk we drink be free of chemicals, hormones, pesticides, etc.  It is important to us, and to the animals – that we both live humanely, naturally, with a good quality of life.

Snowville Creamery is based in Pomeroy OH, which is about 90 miles outside of C-bus.  It’s actually closer to Charleston, but who’s counting?  There are a lot of different local dairy establishments.  But, Snowville is always reasonably priced, without any sacrifice of quality, or values. The cows are pasture-grazed, and the milk is non-homogonized, which means the cream separates to the top.  And, they participate in the community.  They show up at local events right along side my CSA, and in neighborhood groceries.  Once, I happened upon their cheese-making ‘course’ at the Hills Market.  Cheese making?  Who does that?  … well, I guess I would… and I think it’s awesome that someone is bringing those handmade notions back into the mainstream.

I don’t want this blog to be another ‘activist’, ‘animal rights’ website.  This isn’t my goal in producing this page.  However, I would be remiss if I did not mention that most cows are raised on mega dairies and don’t get a fair crack at life.  And let’s not even mention environmental implications from all that waste… ugh… factory farms…

Being in the veterinary field, D would argue that the bad things we hear about mega dairies are worst case scenarios exploited by extremists.  And, furthermore, he would want me to mention that he learned that growth hormones have not been proven to have any negative affect on humans. 

I’m not sure that I agree with him… I leave you to decide this for yourself. 

Half the milk the US consumes is produced by 3 mega dairies (and yes, ‘mega’ is an actual technical term, although most ‘mega’ dairies cringe hearing it), which have been  fed growth hormones provided by, chiefly, Monsanto Company (who is no friend of the seed business… but don’t get me started…)**. And so, I have to ask, what does that mean for our local dairy farmers?  There are good, positive things going on, right in your backyard.  Show the local farms that they have honest business right here, in state. Even with falling milk prices, let them know that their services are appreciated.

Buy from Snowville, or whatever is local to you.  Your mind, your body and your heart will thank you for it.

**Apparently, while it is still legal to inject cows with growth hormones, it is also now legal for those hormones to show up on the label, and Monsanto has abandoned their program… D, always so smart, wanted me to mention this… and he wanted me to remove the sentence altogether, in fear that Monsanto might sue little old me… and I wouldn’t put it past them… But, I don’t believe, in my heart of hearts, that this is an abandoned idea.  And, so, I leave it there, for you to digest as you will… Even without the growth hormones, mega dairies are no picture of perfection. And there are ‘PETA-esque’ websites that will show you horrible videos of all that goes on.  And from the massive number of food contamination outbreaks, I can’t imagine that everything is as ‘safe’ as the big wigs would have you believe. Plus, I don’t trust Monsanto. Period. And that’s all I’m going to say about that. – So buy from Snowville. No if, ands, or buts about it.  They won’t let you down.  Personally, I attribute their quality of milk to the days of yore, which is to say, the days of the milkman, and rolling green pastures, and plaid.  Got to love it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sagesweetgrass permalink
    October 10, 2009 2:22 am

    Don’t forget about milk mustaches! They go with Chocolate Chip cookies, too!
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Mom C permalink
    October 16, 2009 4:37 am

    Even lactose intolerance can’t deter me from a tall cold glass of milk! Lauren, your writings and photos are lovely and inspiring. And I love the pictures of our grandcats! I finally made the butternut squash ravioli with a browned butter and sage sauce topped with cheeses and homemade amaretto cookies. We loved it! I also bought a can of Glory Foods Sweet Traditions Sweet Potato Casserole made by Glory foods of Columbus, Ohio. Yes, it contains sugar and gum arabic among other things but boy it is sooo good! You’d like it. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

