Skip to content

getting used to things…

October 26, 2010

i don’t know if you knew, but i have collected one very large orange dust bunny, who seems to occupy an enormous amount of space on my desk while i am trying to work…

these silly things, i feel, are what my life is about to become.

simplicity.

and this too is my philosophy on parenting.  no electronic toys that whiz and whurr… no harmful plastic objects, or other unnatural materials that might harm and inhibit a child’s growth and development… just plain old imagination. wood blocks. simplistic dolls. dress up clothes.  things made from wool and cotton and hemp fiber.  books and books and books.

and i think this comes from a very deep need within myself – a dissatisfaction with society and the way it has taught me to value objects, and not people.  and as much as i might recognize it, it is such a heavy burden to get out from underneath.  i have had almost 30 years of living this way.  the more i have, the happier i must be…  i don’t want this for my children.  objects have no meaning.  they cannot go with you when you die.  i want them to be strong in themselves.  to see value in friends and family and tradition.

so, lately, i have been obsessing over this song:

I am sick with wanting and it’s evil and it’s daunting
How I let everything I cherish lay to waste
I am lost in greed, this time it’s definitely me
I point fingers but there’s no one there to blame

A need for something, now let me break it down again
A need for something but not more medicine

I am sick of wanting and it’s evil how it’s got me
And every day is worse than the one before
The more I have the more I think I’m almost where I need to be
If only I could get a little more

A need for something, now let me break it down again
A need for something but not more medicine

Something has me, oh something has me
Acting like someone I don’t wanna be
Something has me, oh something has me
Acting like someone I know isn’t me
Ill with want and poisoned by this ugly greed

Temporary is my time, ain’t nothing on this world that’s mine
Except the will I found to carry on
Free is not your right to chose
It’s answering what’s asked of you
To give the love you find until it’s gone

A need for something, now let me break it down again
A need for something but not more medicine

Something has me, oh something has me
Acting like someone I don’t wanna be
Something has me, oh something has me
Acting like someone I know isn’t me
Ill with want and poisoned by this ugly greed
Ill with want and poisoned by this ugly greed
Ill with want and poisoned by this ugly greed

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

