Skip to content

someone is getting big

February 11, 2013

*i should apologize.  i’ve taken a winter break, it seems.  as i reflect on my years of blogging, it seems routine now that i take that break in the busy winter months.  but, it’s definitely an unconscious decision.  both girls celebrate birthdays in the beginning of winter.  christmas quickly sneaks up and before you know it, we’re in the middle of january without a single word posted on this blog.  i’m sorry.  i do like maintaining a presence here and i hope you’ll forgive my short absence.  perhaps in the future, i’ll come up with a game plan for those silly winter months of december and january.*

and now, on to bigger and better things.  because, seriously, someone around here is getting mighty big!

in the last few months, it become more and more obvious that adelaide was ready for new bed.  she was showing signs of needing new space.  she could, and did, consistently climb in and out of her crib.  she would throw tantrums at bedtime, trying to avoid the crib.  once she even said in a mighty sad voice , ‘i don’t like my bed.’  if that doesn’t smack you in the face, i don’t know what does! and so, we did listen.  it wasn’t as difficult as i would have imagined.

first, adelaide was pure joy.  she was beaming from ear to ear about her new bed.  she would, and still does, play in it and jump on it and she frequently tells me how daddy picked it up for her.  she also didn’t seem to bat an eye at the fact that her old crib moved over four feet in the room and became lyla’s new crib.

there are things she must adjust to.  we still haven’t conquered the idea of ‘covers’.  she still sleeps folded in half, like a diver in pike position.  sometimes she asks me to sleep with her, which is miraculous and fantastic.  but she seems to be swallowed by such an enormous bed, and so huddles against the rails holding on to her lambskin blanket.  she likes us to believe she’s a very tough little girl, not phased by change.  but at night, all alone with her, i can see she needs comfort and routine to remind her that this new thing is really okay.  and so, we say our verse and we read our books, just like we always do.  and she cuddles with her blanket and with ‘baby a’, just as she always does.  and sometimes i sing, quite softly:

ladybird, ladybird come to my window. ladybird, ladybird, come to my window. ladybird, ladybird, come to my window. my molasses candy. come to my window my sugar lump.  come to my window my sugar lump. my molasses candy. (my version of elizabeth mitchell’s little bird, little bird.)

when we let our children go, my how they soar.

IMG_6877 IMG_6878 IMG_6883 IMG_6885 IMG_6886

this is, i should mention, the top part of a bunk bed.  we decided bunk beds were the best bang for our buck, as we will soon need a bed for lyla too.  they are very solid.  i highly recommend them.  and, in case you’re wondering, i do think a mama-made blanket is in order.  all the squares are already cut and waiting to be pieced.  ahhh… sweet children tucked under handmade goodness.  could it get any better?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2013 7:41 am

    My head hurts just thinking about Rudy moving to her own bed. I have a bad feeling it is going to be quite the fight. It’s our fault, though, so I’ll deal with it as best I can.

    I don’t see photographs of the girls for what? Two months? And they look like they grew two years!? Goodness gracious. I can’t wait to see you all again. It’s been too long!

Leave a Reply

